2018 award Winners

2018 Ex-Services Checkmates Hockey Club Awards

Each year ESC celebrates the successes and contributions of our members. The winners were announced at the Presentation Ceremony on Saturday 24 August, 2018 


Club Awards


Club Person of the Year                 Jen Philp

Sportsmanship Award                   Chris Herd

Most Improved Male                      Ryan Pilmore

Most Improved Female                  Tamara Kermode

Team of the Year                             Ladies 3rd Division

Vern Turner Medal                          Alex Marsh



Junior Teams Awards


Under 9's

Coaches Award                               Addison Diefenbach

Encouragement Award                  Liam Rogers

Most Improved                                Lydia Sewell


Under 11's

Coaches Award                               Vanessa Riggall

Encouragement Award                 Chenara Westaway

Most Improved                               Bridgette Diefenbach


Under 13's

Coaches Award                              Chenese Westbury  

Encouragement Award                 Cal Lawrence

Most Improved                               Daniel Murrell


Senior Teams Awards


A Grade Men

Coaches Award                                Rohan Lawrence

Players Player                                  Scott Cowan


Div 3 Women

Coaches Award                               Jess Brien

Players Player                                  Jen Philp


B Grade Men

Coaches Award                               Toby Simpson

Players Player                                 Tim Bartlett-Taylor


Div 4 Women

Coaches Award                              Tamara Kermode

Players Player                                 Jessica Stockings


C Grade Men

Coaches Award                               Dave Maunder

Players Player                                 Chris Herd



Social Committee Awards


Dummy Spit

Ian Smith

Best Bruise

Adam White

Should have ducked

Paul McDonald

King of Cards

Kyle Wellesmore

Queen of Cards Cathy Moran


Jen Philp


Toby Simpson

Best Break Cody Davis
The Block Award Alexander Smith


We Support