2017 Award Winners

2017 Ex-Services Checkmates Hockey Club Awards

Each year ESC celebrates the successes and contributions of our members. The winners, announced at the Presentation Ceremony on Saturday 23rd  September, 2017 were…


Club Awards


Club Person of the Year                          Deb Walls

Sportsmanship Award                             Peta Lisle

Most Improved Male                                 Jack Pears

Most Improved Female                            Eryn Cavanagh

Vern Turner Medal                                    Cal Lawrence


Life Membership                                     Darlene Saladine


Junior Teams Awards


Under 9's

           Coaches Award                                  Bodhi Fabian

           Encouragement Award                      Jacob Fleming

           Most Improved                                    Bridgett Diefenback


Under 9's

           Coaches Award                                  Lydia Sewell

           Encouragement Award                      Chase Chaffey

          Most Improved                                    Elsie Piddington


Under 11's

           Coaches Award                                  Chenara Westaway

           Encouragement Award                      Illy Partridge

           Most Improved                                    Bobbi Fleming


Under 13's

            Coaches Award                                 Ethan Schumaker

            Encouragement Award                     Chanese Westbury

            Most Improved                                   Lachlan Peak


Senior Teams Awards


A/B Grade Men

             Coaches Award                                Lachlan Perry

             Players Player                                   Steven Wilson


Div 2 Women

              Coaches Award                               Kia Fabian

              Players Player                                  Katie Byrne


UNE (Div 2) Women

              Coaches Award                               Audrey Gripper

              Players Player                                  Madlen Jones


Div 3 Women

              Coaches Award                               Deb Walls

              Players Player                                 Shannon McLaughlin


C Grade Men

              Coaches Award                               Chris Herd  

              Players Player                                  Lachlan Laycock


Div 4 Women

               Coaches Award                              Cherie Lang

               Players Player                                 Kate Kirby


Team Successes

Men's B Grade - Premiers

Social Committee Awards


Dummy Spit




Should have ducked


Best Bruise

Deb Walls

King of Cards

David Campbell


Kyle Wellsmore


Jen Philp


Lachlan Laycock



We Support